Review of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child’s Latest Novel, The Obsidian Chamber


The focus of my blog is to review book series and not individual novels. But writers are going to continue writing novels within a series even after I have done my review, so I plan on reviewing the individual novels as they come into circulation.   Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child will soon be releasing book #16, The Obsidian Chamber to the Pendergast series.

It has been a year since Crimson Shore was released and I am sure that many fans of the series have been asking themselves questions in relation to the ending such as–

Did Aloysius Pendergast survive his rough and tumble with Morax or did he become fish food at the bottom of the sea?

Will Constance Greene live the rest of her days alone deep down in the catacombs of 891 Riverside Drive among Enoch Leng’s cabinet of curiosities, and more importantly, will she have decent WiFi?

Did Proctor survive having his head clubbed by a mysterious stranger or is he living out his days in a convalescent home, eating strained peas and mumbling under his breath on the good ‘ole days at Butler Academy?


More importantly, who is the mysterious stranger with the familiar voice?

Could it be William Smithback back from the dead as a zombie, seeking vengeance for never receiving that Pulitzer that he felt he deserved?


Could it be Pendergast’s evil son Alban, who really didn’t die that fateful day at the hands of Barbeaux, but instead was delivered to dear old Dad’s doorstep in a death-like coma, and then revived only minutes before being incinerated in a cremation chamber?


Could it be Diogenes Pendergast who supposedly died after falling into a volcano, and Hell decided it didn’t want him and spit him back out?


Could it be Dr. Whitney Frock, who didn’t truly die that eventful day in the storm drain below New York City, but was rejuvenated back to life after ingesting a new experimental drug, isolated from one of those darn lilies, just before the mine explosion?

Well, all your questions and more will be answered in the latest addition to the series, The Obsidian Chamber.

To say any more about The Obsidian Chamber would spoil the fun, so all I am going to say about it is “Yabba-Dabba-Doo!”

Some will say that The Obsidian Chamber could be read as a standalone, but I say that in order to really enjoy this book, one would minimally want to read Cabinet of Curiosities, Brimstone, Dance of Death, Book of the Dead, and especially Crimson Shore. Oh, gosh darn, just read the whole series, you won’t be disappointed.

I would like to thank NetGalley and Grand Central Publishing for my Advance Reader Copy of The Obsidian Chamber.

To learn more about the series check out Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child’s Pendergast series.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s