Review of A.D. Garrett’s Latest Novel, Truth Will Out


The focus of my blog is to review book series and not individual novels. But writers are going to continue writing novels within a series even after I have done my review, so I plan on reviewing the individual novels as they come into circulation.   A.D. Garrett has just recently added book #3, Truth Will Out to the Simms and Fennimore series.

A.D. Garrett is a pseudonym for British author Margaret Murphy and her forensic consultants, Dave Barclay and Helen Pepper. Pepper has recently joined Murphy on the latest thriller, Truth Will Out, which in my opinion is the best in the series. The Simms and Fennimore series is based on two characters, Kate Simms, a cop and Nick Fennimore, a professor of forensic science and consultant for the National Crime Faculty. One of the primary themes throughout the series is the complicated relationship between Simms and Fennimore and the fact that Fennimore’s wife and daughter were kidnapped with his wife later found dead. Fennimore has become obsessed with finding his daughter which has resulted in adversely affecting Simms career as an investigator. Fennimore’s obsession comes to a head in Truth Will Out, when new information on Fennimore’s daughter strains Simms and Fennimore relationship to the breaking point.

Another storyline that prevails throughout the series, is the secret life of Fennimore’s graduate student Josh Brown. Brown has an important role in Truth Will Out, and readers finally get to find out what is going on with this elusive character.

With a well-conceived plot, great forensics, and an exciting ending, I highly recommend Truth Will Out. Though this novel could easily be read as a standalone, I do highly recommend the previous two books in the series, Everyone Lies and Believe No One to get a better understanding of the Josh Brown plotline.

I would like to thank NetGalley and Corsair publishing for my Advanced Reader Copy of Truth Will Out.

To learn more about the series check out A.D. Garrett’s Simms & Fennimore series.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s