Review of Iris Johansen’s Latest Novel, Mind Game

The focus of my blog is to review book series and not individual novels. But writers are going to continue writing novels within a series even after I have done my review, so I plan on reviewing the individual novels as they come into circulation.  Iris Johansen has recently added book #22, Mind Game to the Eve Duncan series.

Cira is back! That is Cira not Cara. Well, Cara is back too, but only for a short while. For those of you not familiar with Cira, she was a slave girl turned actress during the times of Ancient Rome. She was also a real life person in the dreams of modern day Jane McGuire. Cira was introduced in the fifth book of the series, Blind Alley, when Jane was an adolescent and found that she had the ability to see into the past life of Cira through her dreams. McGuire also found that Cira had hidden away a massive treasure in Scotland on what is now the property of Angus MacDuff which was the focus in the sixth novel of the series, Countdown. MacDuff has been searching for that treasure for some time and over several novels. Well, he is back at it again in Mind Game and this time he has help from Cira through Jane McGuire. So maybe, just maybe, MacDuff will find his treasure.

Dreams about Cira are not the only dreams that Jane is having, she is also dreaming about someone else and that person has a connection to Seth Caleb. Seth Caleb is this quasi-vampire like character that was introduced to the series in the ninth book of the series, Blood Game. Seth has had his eyes on Jane for some time, but McGuire has had this teasing relationship with him. She wants to be with him, but at the same time she doesn’t. In Mind Game, Jane finds that Seth has a vulnerability and, of course, women like it when strong men show they can be vulnerable. So is this the thing that will get McGuire to say yes to Caleb? You’ll have to read the book to find out.

Even though this is an Eve Duncan book, Eve has taken a back seat on this one, but she is not gone. In fact, Eve is planning a big event that will be the highlight in Mind Game. Those that have read the previous book in the series, Night and Day, knows that Duncan is about to give birth to a baby boy which she named Michael. In Mind Game, the baby has not only been born but is now a toddler at the age of two. I mentioned in my review of Night and Day that Michael seemed to be special and he is starting to show how special in Mind Game.

The Eve Duncan series is my trashy novel indulgence which I hate to love, but yes, I do love it. I look forward to the next novel to see what spectacular new character that Johansen cooks up. Ghosts, vampires, and a character that can mind meld with animals are all there. So what will be next? I guess we will get to find out soon as the next novel, Scattered Mirror, is expected to be released next April.

I would like to thank NetGalley for my Advance Reader Copy of Mind Game.

To learn more about the series check out the Eve Duncan series.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s