Review of P.J. Parrish’s Latest Novel, The Damage Done

The focus of my blog is to review book series and not individual novels. But writers are going to continue writing novels within a series even after I have done my review, so I plan on reviewing the individual novels as they come into circulation.  P.J. Parrish has recently added book #12, The Damage Done to the Louis Kincaid series.

The last book in the Louis Kincaid series, Heart of Ice, was released in 2013, so it is a wonderful treat to now see the release of this latest addition to the series, The Damage Done. Louis Kincaid is a biracial cop turned private detective and now in this latest book has turned back to being a cop. One of the things that I really liked about the series is the development of the character Louis Kincaid. A complicated character, Kincaid has grappled throughout the series with his racial identity of being half white and half black but physically appearing to be black.  His father left his mother when he was very young and his mother took to drugs and alcohol which eventually led to Kincaid being placed into foster care. It is his history in foster care that is brought to light in this latest addition to the series, as two cases that he is investigating, forces him to look at an event in his past that is buried deep in his psyche. It is this event that would eventually mold him into the man that he now has become.

The Damage Done is a combination of being a mystery, suspense, and thriller. Though it could be read as a standalone there are references to at least two previous books in the series, Dead of Winter, and Paint It Black. Dead of Winter especially details the reason to why Kincaid had turned from cop to private detective and moved from Michigan to Florida for which much of the series took place and has significant relevance in this latest novel.

The Damage Done is a must read for the Louis Kincaid fan and a delightful read for any mystery lover. I really look forward to the next in the series and hope to not have to wait as long until the next one.  

To learn more about the series check out the Louis Kincaid series.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s