Review of Brandt Legg’s Latest Novel – Cosega Sphere


The focus of my blog is to review book series and not individual novels. But writers are going to continue writing novels within a series even after I have done my review, so I plan on reviewing the individual novels as they come into circulation.   Brandt Legg has just recently added book #4, Cosega Sphere to the Cosega Sequence series.

With the ending of the last book of the Cosega Sequence series, Cosega Shift, it wasn’t clear whether there would be an additional book to the series because the series could have easily concluded at that point. One of my gripes about the series was that too much time was spent on having every agency in existence that is referred to by an acronym attempting to pursue and capture the two main characters, Ripley Gaines and Gale Asher.  Gaines and Asher were on the most wanted list because they possessed a unique piece of technology known as an Eysen, an alien spherical object that appears to project images of humanities past and possible future. This technological wonder was the really interesting aspect of the series, yet Legg did not really go into any details on what it really is and how it actually came into being, which was rather disappointing. Well, Legg has made up for that, as the Eysen is the main focus in this newest addition to the series, Cosega Sphere.

The story begins seven years after the events that occurred at the ending of the Cosega Shift. Asher and Gaines now have a six year old daughter, who has recently been severely injured. Up to this point, Asher and Gaines have been incognito, but their daughter’s injury has placed them now on the radar of every agency with an acronym with one exception, the Vatican boys that had been so endearing in the previous novels. In their place is a new villain, The Foundation, which comprises primarily wealthy members who have their own agenda for the Eysen.

For those that are fans of the series, the Cosega Sphere is a refreshing continuation of the series and a must read, as it begins to answer questions that were left unanswered in the previous novels. This is not a standalone novel, as it is necessary to read the previous novels to truly understand the story. For those of you that haven’t read the previous novels, it will be worth your time to check them out, as it is a fun scifi-technothriller with plenty of nonstop action. The Cosega Sphere is clearly not the ending, as I presume that there will be an additional novel, so I wait with bated breath until the next one comes out.

To learn more about the series check out Brandt Legg’s Cosega Sequence series.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s